2006-11-01

Nablopomo

O.K, I know. It has been way too long since I have updated on here. This is a familiar situation to me. This is my thrid diary. And each one has ended the way this one almost did. I start out, feeling really inspired to write, and then, after a month or two, it wears off. I open the add an entry page, fully intending to update, and then the pressure of feeling the need to write something witty, thought provoking or insightful gets to me, I stare at the empty white box for about 10 minutes or so, and then I put off updating till tomorrow. Or next week. Or never, as has been the case with the two diaries up to now. I really don't want this to happen with this one, which is why I have joined this project , becuase I figure that once I get into the habit of this, it may well get easier. I need to find a space for writing in my life, because I really enjoy it. I enjoy getting my thoughts and feeling down "on paper". I enjoy sharing myself with the (few) people who read here. I need to get over the feeling that there is always something better I could be doing than writing here. I need to get over the feeling that because I am not Dooce or Amalah or one of the numerous other bloggers I read every day and admire to pieces, I have no right to blog (which, looking at it, is a principle that applies to a lot of things in my life. If I feel that I'm not going to be able to do something perfectly, I don't bother doing it at all. Which is daft, because if I enjoy it, who really cares how good I am at it, and also how do I ever expect to get good at things if I don't even try, or give up straight away because I'm not a natural talent...?)
Anyway, so this month, you can look forward to at least one entry every day. Because I'm doing this:

|

oktoberfest at 4:55 p.m.

previous | next